Adventures in social media.

I’ve spent today attempting to re-enter the 21st century, finally succumbing to the wiles of social media. Sure, I’ve been on Facebook for years, but that’s been more out of a sense of obligation than anything else. It’s a nice, easy way to stay in touch with people without having to make much effort. Being inherently lazy, I find it a bit of a godsend.

It’s struck me, though, that I might want to have a look at having some kind of online presence to go along with Longship. At the very least I can make a lot of noise about it in my own corner of the internet, even if said noise is roundly ignored. I’ve found the problem to be that I’ve spent too long ignoring the social aspects of the web and I haven’t got a clue what I’m doing any more.

I initially objected to Twitter on the grounds that it feels a lot like standing in a crowded room and seeing who can shout loudest. I stand by that, but I’ve resurrected my @Vonoutspan account anyway. It seems quieter than I remember, but that could simply be because the people I  follow have simply wandered off into the ether in the years since I was last on it.

Tumblr, on the other hand, is entirely new to me. To be honest, I’m not entirely sure what to make of it at the moment. I’ve set one up at vonoutspan.tumblr.com, but I’ve no idea what to do with it. I’d ask for answers on a postcard, but that’s hardly entering into the spirit of the digital age.

I’ve ventured further afield too, into the the realm of Pinterest, which looks like a useful way to store all of the pictures of pugs that I keep coming across, and Instagram, which would be useful if I had a phone capable of taking a half decent picture and maybe being able to run the app. As it is, the archaic Blackberry that I carry around with me barely functions as a phone at the moment.

I’m sure I’ll get the hang of it eventually. Until then, I’m off to try and work out how to create Facebook page. I may be a while.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

