Working on my TV Tan

If there’s one advantage to being a layabout, it’s being able to catch up on my TV viewing. I’m usually terrible at watching TV series, forgetting to watch several episodes before giving up and doing something else. Fortunately, we now live in the age of the Box Set, which means I’m no longer beholden to watching TV at set times. It’s made one hell of a difference. Now I can spend entire days watching an entire series, pausing only to top up my tea levels.

While I’ve watched a lot of stuff, I’ve been particularly impressed with the quality of the superhero shows that have sprung up. Both Flash and Arrow are strong, and Daredevil has made up for Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D being a little disappointing. With more to come, either from the Marvel Netflix deal or the upcoming Legends of Tomorrow and Supergirl, it’s starting to feel like we’re living in the golden age of the superhero, what with the genre’s continued dominance at the box office and the diversification of superhero comics.

The most surprising thing to me is that pretty much all of the superhero shows are of characters that I’ve never really had much interest in. While I’m certainly aware of them, and more than capable of getting the nerdier references, such as the ‘Jordan’ patch in the Coast City flashback in a recent episode of Arrow, I’ve never found them compelling. Yet somehow the TV versions have managed to draw me in.

It may simply be that I find it nice interacting with superheroes in a way that isn’t burdened with fifty-odd years of continuity. It could be that the characters have been distilled down to their core concepts and seem fresh again. It could be that the episodic format is closer to the traditional comic stories than the films. I don’t know. I do know that I’m enjoying having a different medium to enjoy superheroes in. I love reading superhero comics, but it’s nice to see a different take on old concepts.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

