Too many ideas.

I should be working on the third draft of a novel right now. Well, I should be doing that and finishing the dialogue for a graphic novel too. These things have been hanging over me for far too long, taunting me, daring me to finsh them. That’s normally enough to actually spur me into action.

Not this time though. No, this time my brain has decided that it wants to write something entirely different. I can normally work around that. I quite often end up putting together a short story or two while I’m working on a larger project. This time, however, an entirely unrelated novel has popped into my mind, almost fully formed.

It’s one of those stories that wants to be written, and won’t go away until I’ve at least scribbled down the outline. It’s a good idea, one that I think I’ll enjoy writing. The problem is that it’s going to be a major commitment, when I really should be doing something else.

It’s not the worst problem in the world to have, but it’s frustrating. I’m hoping I can get the gist of it down and delay it for a month or two and still keep my enthusiasm for it. It’s something that I’d rather not end up in my graveyard of unfinished projects.

It would be nice to actually finish writing something some time soon though. I’m intending to get more in print this year than I managed last year. I’m not going to do that if I can’t actually focus, though.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

