Brexit

That light you see is the sun finally setting over Britain. No longer Great, no longer United, just another land filled with petty nationalism and fear.

I’m trying my best to be optimistic and upbeat about everything but I’m struggling. Some people seem to think they’ve got their country back; I’ve lost mine. The shared narrative of the the British Nation has fractured, and I don’t think it can be put back together.

Maybe we’ll get something different, something good when this eventually settles down. Maybe it will even be for the best. It’ll never be what we had, though.

I want to be wrong and keep the Britain that I’ve mythologised in my head alive. Sadly I’m starting to wonder if it ever existed.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

